Board of Trustees | Sitting Bull College

to the top of the page

Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees


Sharon Two Bears, Cannonball

Vice Chair

Avis Little Eagle, Bear Soldier


Mary Kills in Water, Running Antelope


Emma Jean Blue Earth, Long Soldier
Ron Brownotter, Rock Creek
Vacant, Procupine
Jean Cadotte, Wakpala
Victoria Howard, Kenel


The BOT has final authority in all matters affecting the institution and exercises jurisdiction over its financial, educational, and other policies, and its relationships with the state and federal governments.


The BOT consists of eight persons, one elected from each of the eight districts of the Standing Rock Reservation (Rock Creek, Running Antelope, Bear Soldier, Kenel, Wakpala, Cannonball, Fort Yates/Long Soldier, and Porcupine). Each district holds an election among voters of that district in accordance with Tribal Election procedures. The individual receiving the greatest number of votes in each such election shall serve as a Board of Trustee.


To be qualified as a candidate for the BOT a person:
a. Must be an enrolled member of the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe;
b. Must be twenty five (25) years or older and possess at least an Associates Degree;
c. Must reside in the District from which he/she seeks office for at least one year preceding and must retain residency in district through term of office;
d. Must not be a full-time permanent employee of SBC;
e. Must not be a student taking more than five credits per semester through SBC or a college with whom there is an articulation agreement;
f. Must not have been convicted of a felony or an offense involving dishonesty, by any Court, including and offense defined in 18 USC 1163;
g. Must not have been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces;
h. Must not be delinquent on a debt to Tribe as set forth in Title XV Elections 15-102 (g); and
i. Must randomly submit to Sitting Bull College employee drug test pool

BOT Code of Ethics